Review: Realm of the Immortals: Truth

Realm of the Immortals: Truth
Series:
Realm of the Immortals #1
Authors: Tina Nelson and Deb Gulli
Publisher: Self Published
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Source: Author
Purchase: Amazon
Rating: twostar

Consumed by the visions of a mysterious man that walks in the depths of her dreams, Emily’s desire for him continues to grow. Unknowingly born as the most powerful witch in her family, after finding a box with mysterious items from her past, she embarks on a journey to discover the truth of who and what she is. Fueled by the tragic, gruesome murder of her best friend, her true capabilities begin to surface.
Meanwhile, in an alternate realm, immortal King Darian and his brothers search for their longtime enemies, the Calveri brothers. Having committed a crime of unimaginable proportions, they must be found, but have managed to evade all pursuits thus far. With the continuing efforts to avenge his father’s death, Darian must also find the one called the savior and fulfill his destiny to protect his kingdom and people, as it has been foretold by a prophecy centuries old.
When Emily and Darian collide, will the magic sparks bring them together or rip them apart?

Disclaimer: I received this book as a R2R as part of the Goodreads group Lovers of Paranormal. This does not affect my review and the following is my honest opinion.

I really wanted to love this book. Not that I hate it but I seem to be one of the few who are underwhelmed by it. The premise was extremely interesting to me. A witch with her powers locked away and a demon king who needs them to save his world sounds awesome! Add in some serious love/hate and rival really bad guys and you can count me in! However, the characters and most especially the pacing really did nothing for me.

Almost every character talked exactly the same which left the dialogue extremely flat. When a six year old child is virtually indistinguishable from her great grandmother when they’re talking – forcing me to go back and double check who said what – I find myself struggling to enjoy the plot that was thrown at me. As for the pacing, it felt very rushed. Some scenes lacked any sort of transition whatsoever and while I appreciate the authors wanting to spare us the boring stuff, it needed a little less jumping around to hold my attention. But, there was a lot of action and it did pull me back into the story but each time I grew disinterested when the dialogue fizzled and the descriptions were all but nonexistent. (Except for the garden. That place got a lot of love.)

All in all, I feel it has a lot of potential but could do with another revision. If the dialogue was more varied and the characters less prone to ridiculous mood swings I think I’d have liked this book a lot more. I’m really sorry I didn’t; I had a lot of hopes for it but it just didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

