Waiting On Wednesday: Atlantia by Ally Condie

WoW logo“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine. 

Atlantia
Author: Ally Condie
Release Date:  
October 28th, 2014
Publisher: 
Dutton Children’s
Genre(s): 
YA, Sci-fi/Fantasy, Dystopia
Pre-order: 
Amazon

For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden—she has nothing left to lose.

Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths.

Okay, seriously October what is going on with you? This is the third October release I’m fawning over in the past month! I’m going to get absolutely nothing done that month besides reading! Which isn’t the worst way to spend your time. 🙂

I was drawn in by the cover on this one; I love the ocean and anything sea related has me instantly interested. And then that tag line above the title? I had the brief flicker of some Lovecraftian YA but the synopsis, even lacking eldritch horrors or mermaids, was so exciting! Twins? Dystopian? Under the sea? Twins separated with one stuck in a place that reminds me of Rapture (Bioshock is one of my favorite games!) and another in the wasteland above?

I need this in my life! I am stoked! October can’t come soon enough!

17 comments

    1. It’s going to be so good! Or rather, I hope it will be! 🙂 But I have high hopes and faith that Ally Condie will do amazing with it! I read the first chapter online and was instantly hooked!

      Thanks for your visit! 🙂

    1. Thanks! I thought the cover was really pretty and then after reading the first chapter online I knew I wanted to read the whole thing! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    1. She’s really great! So I have high hopes for this one! I’m almost sad it’s a stand alone but I bet it will be really fabulous!

      Thanks for stopping in! 😀

    1. Dystopian is my thing. I cannot get enough of them! I hope your daughter likes it! Maybe enough to recommend it to you too! 🙂

      Thanks for the visit!

  1. I am SO excited for this! Ally Condie is one of my favorite authors! I didn’t realize it was coming out this October, though – for some reason I was thinking it wasn’t till next year. Now I’m even more excited. 😀 Fall can’t come fast enough!
    Thanks for stopping by my WoW 🙂

  2. that cover IS lovely although I have been thinking about this book since I wasn’t really a fan of Ally Condie’s Match Trilogy… but I do have to admit that this sounds a bit more interesting 🙂

Leave a Reply

