Waiting On Wednesday: Talon by Julie Kagawa

WoW logo“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine. 

Talon
Series: Talon
Author:
Julie Kagawa
Release Date: 
October 28th 2014
Publisher:
Harlequin Teen
Genre(s):
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, YA
Pre-order:
Amazon, B&N

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.

Julie Kagawa’s work was immediately added to my ‘auto buy’ list after reading The Iron Fey books. A masterful storyteller, Ms. Kagawa creates vibrant worlds with engaging, dynamic characters that leave you thinking about them even when the books are over. In The Iron Fey she wove an urban fantasy story with fey lore in it that was nothing short of amazing. And as much as I love fey, an urban fantasy with dragons?

I just about had a heart attack when I read they synopsis and then another fit when I saw it comes out in October. How am I supposed to live to October without this book in my  life?! It’s going to be a rough wait and if I trade my kidney for an ARC, well, it was worth it.

29 comments

    1. Her writing is AMAZING! If you get a chance I really recommend The Iron Fey series! Or well, anything by her. 🙂

      But I’m with you on dragon books being a must read! They’re some of my favorites! And I’m sure with how fantastic of a writer Ms. Kagawa is neither of us will be disappointed! Fingers crossed that October comes quick for us. 🙂

  1. Haha, the book looks awesome. I have a few books by her at my library but I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t read any of them. I know, I know, but don’t worry I shall rectify this very soon. Thanks for stopping by my page.

    1. She really is worth reading, I promise! 🙂 I hope you enjoy her books as much as I did! Though with the third one I felt it hit a tiny lull but she remedies it quickly enough so my enjoyment didn’t lessen too much! This one has dragons though and I am a rabid dragon lover so…hopes are high!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    1. I’m jealous but also super excited for you! I’d love to hear how BEA goes! Will you be blogging about it or anything like that?

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    1. It’s such a fun meme! I’m really glad to partake in it! And I’m glad you added Talon too; I bet it’s going to be awesome! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    1. She’s really top notch! I can’t stop recommending her, honestly. This one I think will be breathtaking though and I hope you read it! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Thanks. 🙂 I have really high hopes so fingers crossed that the book meets them! Though I have a lot of confidence in Ms. Kagawa so I think it will! Thanks for the visit! 🙂

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I’m glad to spark interest in another! Her writing is fantastic and I think this one will be some of her best work yet! If you get a chance I really recommend her series The Iron Fey. It’s phenomenal.

    1. The Immortal Rules books are sitting in my TBR pile right now. I’m glad to hear they’re great! And hopefully Talon lives up to the excitement it’s generating. I’ll be crushed if it isn’t. But I’m optimistic she’ll do a great job.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. This book sounds quite interesting! I’ve always loved books about dragons so this is going to my TBR list! Thanks for the comment on our blog 🙂

    1. You can read the first chapter here if you’d like! It got me even more anxious though so it was a double-edged sword. 🙂

      And thank you for your return visit! Most appreciated! 🙂

  3. This is a great pick! Julie Kagawa is a favorite of mine, and I can’t wait to read what she does with dragons. I soooo excited dragons are coming back into popularity! New follower!

Leave a Reply

